A Stratford library card grants you access to databases for all ages. Search articles and documents in journals, newspapers, and online archives.
Some databases require a library card, which is available to anybody who lives in Perth County. Most databases are also available online from home, though some are only available in the Stratford Public Library.
Ancestry Library Ed.
This database is a genealogy research tool with data from the census, military records, court, land, probate, vital and church records, passenger lists, etc. It covers Canada, the US, UK, and some European countries.
Use In Library
BiblioEnfants
TumbleBook Library - in French! This is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format - and new language - they'll love. [for younger children]
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Britannica Library | Children
Find information quickly and easily by searching Britannica’s three encyclopedia sets, the Internet Guide, and a collection of videos. You can preselect your reading level so that your results will make sense to you. This is more than just an encyclopedia!
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Britannica Library: Public Library Ed
Provides teachers and students access to encyclopedia articles, images, videos, editorially-selected websites. Users are able to select the reading level of their articles. Students also have access to research guides to help them learn about the research process.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Britannica Library: Reference Center
Britannica brings all of the extensive research and in-depth articles that users expect from the traditional Encyclopaedia Britannica. Supplementing the encyclopedia articles, Britannica Online includes magazines and journals, selected "Web's Best" sites, multimedia, dictionary and thesaurus entries as well as links to the New York Times and the BBC News web sites. Additional content sources include Year in Review, World Data Analyst, Notable Quotations and Gateway to the Classics.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Canadian Points of View
This full-text database is designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides information on 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers. Topics include the environment, human rights, race, substance abuse and many more. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Canadian Reference Centre
CRC includes Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books. This database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international (U.S. and U.K) periodicals in full text; full-text reference books; full-text biographies and an Image Collection. Updated daily.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
CBC Corner
This one-of-a-kind digital portal allows you to access a wide variety of content including trusted news, local stories, entertaining TV and radio shows, award-winning podcasts, educational kids content, innovative podcasts, a free English and French language learning app, news in foreign languages and much more!
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Chilton Library
ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use website. With Chilton Library, you are now equipped with decades of data to maintain your vehicle.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Comics Plus
Comics Plus contains digital comics, graphic novels, and manga for kids, youth, and adults alike. Stream Bone, Peanuts, Stranger Things, The Dark Night, and Attack on Titan among thousands of other titles.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Consumer Health Complete
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Consumer Reports
Full-text access to Consumer Reports magazine's investigative articles, product ratings and unbiased monthly reports.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Creative Bug
With Creativebug you'll enjoy unlimited access to over 1000 online art and craft classes. Watch classes anytime, anywhere. Since classes never expire, you can start and stop projects at your own pace. No pressure, just possibilities! Includes Knitting, Crochet, Art & Design, Paper, Sewing, Quilting, Jewelry, Kids, Food + Home, Holiday + Party and more!
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
downloadLibrary
Download ebooks, audiobooks, magazines and videos anywhere, anytime, to any computer. You can even transfer the audiobooks and videos to your favourite mobile device and take them with you - wherever you go! eBooks can be transferred to various readers like the Kobo or downloaded directly to your tablet. Help with downloadLibrary
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Explora Canada
Explora Canada provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world’s leading magazines, reference books, news articles, and Associated Press videos. Browse categories organized by popular topics, and begin your research with Topic Overviews, which provide a solid starting point for discovery and understanding.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Gale Courses
Gale Courses are free, instructor-led online courses that provide professional development, technological skill enhancement, and improve personal wellness. Begin your lifelong learning, for free, by taking advantage of this great opportunity. More on Gale Courses.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Gale OneFile: CPI.Q
Use CPI.Q to find articles from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content from Thomson Gale, all with a Canadian focus.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Home Improvement Reference Centre
Home Improvement Reference Center provides "how-to" information on thousands of home improvement and repair projects, from plumbing and wiring, to painting and decorating.
Use in Library | Use Outside Library
LOTE4Kids
LOTE4Kids offers a collection of over 4,500 digital children's books in 70+ languages with English translations. Kids can enjoy the magic of books in LOTE (Languages Other Than English) or watch each book translated and narrated in English to help with their reading and literacy development.
Mango Languages
SPL no longer susbscribes to Mango Languages. This tool has been replaced with Pronunciator which you can find below.
MasterFile Premier
Search articles from over 2,000 magazines covering general interest topics including current events, business, health, science, sports, multicultural issues, and more.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
National Geographic Kids
Reputable, authoritative, and appropriate content that brings children aged 6-14 the world in a way they’ve never seen it before. Fun and substantive, National Geographic Kids will take them on amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
National Geographic Virtual Library
Browse a complete archive of National Geographic Magazine, from 1888 to the present. Also includes National Geographic Traveler, National Geographic History, and National Geographic Kids, along with a cross-searchable collection of books, maps, images, and videos.
Use Inside Library | Use Outside Library
NoveList
This database allows readers to search for their favourite authors or titles, and find others of similar interest. Users can browse theme-oriented book lists at every reading level through Explore Fiction, and look for outstanding titles in Best Fiction.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
NoveList K-8
NoveList K-8 contains book recommendations K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles. This is a great starting place for learning about the books that you need and will want to read!
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Oxford English Dictionary
A searchable dictionary used to study the history, meaning, and pronunciation of words in the English language. Find out when a word was first used and how its context has changed over time.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
PebbleGo
PebbleGo covers information on Animals, Health, Science, and Social Studies. The information included is geared for PreK - Grade 2. If prompted, site username: sopl643 and password: school
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
PressReader
Read newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in multiple languages. Titles include the Beacon Herald, Toronto Star, National Post, Canadian Living and Canadian Geographic. You can share, print, save, and comment on articles. PressReader works best in a web browser on your computer or mobile device. When you select Sign in, click on Library or Group and search for Perth County Information Network.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Primary Search
Designed for elementary school libraries, Primary Search is a full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness and space exploration.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Pronunciator
Pronunciator offers personalized courses in any of 163 languages, and instruction in any of 144 home languages, ESL courses, audio lessons, American and Mexican Sign Languages. Pronunciator also includes ProCitizen, comprehensive preparation for the Canadian citizenship test. Users have unlimited, simultaneous, remote access.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Science Reference Center
Provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Small Engine Repair
Not just lawn mowers! The SERRC is a comprehensive collection of small motor repair instructions and diagrams for marine, boat and small watercraft, snowmobiles, motorcycles, tractors, and a variety of outdoor power equipment too numerous to list.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Teen Book Cloud
TeenBookCloud is an online collection of ebooks, enhanced novels, graphic novels, videos and audiobooks, offering students and adults of all reading levels access to an amazing range of content.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Teen Health & Wellness
Teen Health & Wellness provides middle and high school students with nonjudgmental, straightforward, curricular and self-help support, aligned to provincial standards. Topics include diseases, drugs and alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide and bullying, green living, LGBTQ issues, and more.
Use Inside Library | Use Outside Library
Tumblebook Library
An online collection of talking picture books, graphic novels and general novels for children to use by themselves or with an adult. Makes reading a fun experience with text, animation, music and narration. Also includes books and games in French and Spanish. [young children up to grade 6]
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
TumbleMath
Math can be fun! Explore this collection of math stories that combines animation, narration, and sound for students of all ages.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library